The social networking website like Facebook allows the users to share everything from their status updates to the pictures, videos and links too. Since its creation in 2004, the Facebook team has tweaked the site’s privacy policies in many ways, changing the way you interact with your friends and effective communication. The setting options allow you to access some of the general information on your friends’ Timelines, but not necessarily all of it.
The Privacy Layers
The Facebook community gives you the ability to limit what kin d of information in your profile you should be sharing with the other users. The website’s default settings will automatically allow everyone to see all your information, including your pictures too. The Facebook’s next layer of ‘privacy protection’ allows the users to share some relevant information only with their approved friends on Facebook. But Facebook’s settings go a step further; they enable the users to limit which friends have access to which information. This means that while someone may be your friends on Facebook or not, you might not be able to see some — or even all — of her pictures.
The Privacy Settings on Facebook
There are multiple reasons as to why you may be unable to see your friends’ pictures on Facebook. The first is a change in your friends’ privacy settings. All the Facebook users have the ability to restrict who can see their tagged photos and videos or the images and videos uploaded by other users, but labeled with their Facebook user name, by customizing their privacy settings. The Customizable settings on your Facebook a count, allow your friends to add the names of the individuals who cannot access the pictures, even if the other individuals on their friends list can. If your name is on this list, you will not be able to see this friend’s tagged photos.
The Individual Album Settings
Another way your Facebook friends can limit who sees their photos is by adjusting the settings of the individual albums. He Options for individual albums include allowing the ‘Friends’ Only, ‘Friends of Friends’, ‘Networks’ and ‘Just Me’ as the owner of the pictures album. If the album owner has made the album ‘private to everyone’ but himself, even his friends won’t be able to view the pictures in the album. Also, the individual albums can have the customized settings. Just as with the custom settings for tagged photos and videos, the users can add the names of their Facebook friends to a blocked list; anyone whose name appears on the list will not be able to see or access the images contained in that album. Your friends can have the different privacy settings for different albums, meaning you might be able to see some albums and not others.